Search This Blog

Tax component of petrol prices in India  

Almost half the amount of petrol price goes into taxes levied by the Central and the State governments.

 Petrol is subjected to four levies:
Central excise duty,
customs duty,
entry tax,
and sales tax.
Based on May data as published in Internet (Deccan herald 16th May 2011) the Centre charges a fixed excise tax of Rs 14.35 per litre, and customs duty of 7.5 per cent on crude oil. Further, the State government charges 25 per cent sales tax on petrol. Besides, it also charges a five per cent entry tax that is levied on every litre of petrol and diesel that enters the State.
These taxes can be well understood in a chart as above. Motor spirit is another name of petrol.


AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Post a Comment